Welcome to weblogs.com.pk Sign in | Join | Help

Classification of Source Code Control Systems

This post is in the continuation of the Source Code Control (SCC) Systems discussion. I already have talked about Subversion (my all time favorite) here and CVS (one of the most used system) here. SCC systems are (generally) server/client applications. This post is about the classifications of SCC servers and clients.


SCC servers can be classifieds into two broad categories; central/single server based and distributed servers. CVS, Subversion and Visual Source Safe, they all fall into the first category and the major problem with them: single point of failure.


SCC servers can also be classifieds based on their storage media, some uses OS file system, e.g. Visual Source Safe and almost all CVS servers, some uses databases, e.g. Subversion (uses Berkley DB) and Vault (uses SQL Server)


SCC clients can be divided into three categories, (a) separate command based or GUI enriched applications, e.g. WinCVS, (b) Operating System’s shell integrated e.g. TortiseSVN (for CVS), TortiseSVN (for Subversion) (Both are my favorites) and (c) IDE integrated clients, e.g. Visual Studio has SCC plug-in for CVS, Subversion, Visual Source Safe, Vault etc, Eclipse has built in plug-in for CVS.

Published Friday, September 3, 2004 12:50 PM by khurram


No Comments

New Comments to this post are disabled